MERGE Nursing Review Center
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

condom or abstinence

Go down

condom or abstinence Empty condom or abstinence

Post by Iloilo Mon Dec 08, 2008 5:24 pm

To Mr Dervid Jungco

Sir, I am a student from Iloilo Doctors’ College. Please allow me to comment on one of the review questions we’ve discussed last Sunday in the review, regarding the best way to prevent the transmission of HIV. The options were condom, abstinence and monogamy. Monogamy was dropped and we were left to consider between condom & abstinence, in the end you said that condom is the best answer. I agree that monogamy cannot give a total assurance to prevent the transmission of HIV because although you may be practicing monogamy, your partner may be having sexual relations with other individuals, unless the couple made an agreement to be in an exclusive monogamous relationship, which was not specified in the question. In my opinion, abstinence is the best answer. Condoms may fail even if used properly, which presents a probability for the transmission of HIV. Abstinence, on the other hand is the surest way to prevent the transmission of HIV. Since HIV is transmitted mainly thru sexual intercourse, there would be a 0% probability that HIV be transmitted to a person abstaining from sexual intercourse, its just totally impossible that you get infected with HIV; which makes abstinence far more effective in preventing the spread of HIV. You have mentioned that humans have sexual needs and as I have understood it, you were implying that abstinence is not the best answer because humans instinctively have an uncontrollable desire to have sex so just use the condom anyhow; but what makes us humans in the first place is our freedom – we are free to decide for ourselves – free to choose what is good, unlike animals whose behavior is controlled by their natural instincts - they cannot say no to it – they are not free, they